News & Events


2019, All, Campuses, Cloudy, Common, Day, Depth of Field, Environmental portrait, Focal Length, Lion Shrine, Nittany Lion Shrine-UP, Scenic, Shallow DOF, Shrines and Landmarks, Some, Summer, Technique, Time, Unique, University Park, Weather, Wide Shot, Year

Cyberinfrastructure Faculty Advisory Committee to provide input on shared ICDS services

Posted on May 8, 2024

An 18-member Cyberinfrastructure Faculty Advisory Committee (CiFAC) was formed earlier this spring to provide input on shared cyberinfrastructure and services offered through Penn State’s Institute for Computational and Data Sciences (ICDS). 

The faculty committee will “provide guidance to ICDS on opportunities for researchers to increase their productivity and impact through the use of ROAR and RISE services and to be the conduit for two-way communications between ICDS and the wider research community.” 

Additionally, members plan to provide feedback on resources and services including ROAR hardware roadmaps, software environments, rates and offerings, policies, performance metrics, collaboration services and training, according to the committee. 

The vision also hopes that the committee will “serve as a mutually beneficial and critical role as a two-way communication channel” between Penn State campuses, colleges, and departments and ICDS. This line of communication will aid in ICDS building relationships and partnerships that will enhance research and collaboration opportunities. 

“ICDS was not getting enough faculty input that was diverse,” Dr. Amit Amritkar, ICDS technical director, said.  

“CiFAC provides feedback from representatives of a broad computing community,” said Dr. Guido Cervone, ICDS director and professor of geography and meteorology. “We will also set up additional committees to receive feedback from specific users, like for example power-users with very large parallel computing requirements, and from the ICDS co-hires and associates. The feedback from the various committees will be taken into account for crucial decision making like setting priorities, services offered and procurement of new hardware.” 

 Committee members were selected via an impartial process of recommendations from across the commonwealth at Penn State, the associate deans for research at different colleges and chief academic officers at campuses.  The recommendations were then narrowed down to 18 by looking at a list of criteria including research areas, demographics, and Service Level Agreement users and Open Queue users.  

Amritkar said that it was important to “have a balance” between professors, users, and types of research within the committee. 

The committee plans to do a comprehensive review of the updated version of ICDS policies this summer. Current ICDS policies are available at 

The committee is comprised of Chair Jainendra Jain, Evan Pugh University Professor and Erwin W. Mueller Professor in Physics, Eberly College of Science; Vice-Chair Wesley Reinhart, assistant professor, College of Earth and Mineral Science; and members, Brent Ambrose, Smeal College of Business; Anilchandra Attaluri, Penn State Harrisburg; Sy-Minn Chow, College of HHD; Antonia Madjimichael, College of Earth and Mineral Science; Lee Hinkle, College of Arts and Architecture; Mia Jin, College of Engineering; Mahmut Kandemir, College of Engineering; Agnes Kim, Penn State Scranton; Qunhua Li, Eberly College of Science; Dajiang Liu, College of Medicine; Romit Maulik, College of IST; Elizabeth Proctor, College of Engineering, Suzy Scherf, College of the Liberal Arts; Priya Sharma, College of Education; Hajime Shimao, Penn State Great Valley; and Yi Yang, Penn State Abington. 


Related Posts